Power of Books – between the covers

From The Desk Of The Retired Teacher

So I sit here thinking about childrens’ books from a very different perspective..stories of animal friends like in Charlotte’s Web, Elephant and Piggy, Winnie-the-Pooh, The Mitten (Jan Brett) and more. We read these books to our students. We discuss friendship, moral quandaries and a slew of other concepts. What a wonderful conduit these book are to understand diversity, empathy, getting along (given differences and similarities), hope and aspirations.

So I wonder how, when and where as adults we forget what these stories (that we held so dearly) have gone astray in our outlook on life, now. This post reminds me that we tend to be overwhelmed by the vagaries of life/living, on a day to day basis. That minutia confines us and we forget to look at the big picture. The forest for the trees comes to mind.

I think of this now before the Winter Holidays. It was a very busy week at my school and I subbed two days for the Lower Elementary art teacher. A worry at first since I had not done that in quite a long time. But needn’t be! Books to read to the different classes and follow up art assignments explained beautiful in the lesson plans. So a worry became a great experience! Although this seems like a detour from this post, I’ll connect it now. I’ve written before of my love of books and read alouds and every time I am in a classroom I am thrilled to read to the students. In these art books we can look at diversity in a different light and encourage the students to use their own ideas as a reflection and empowerment to who they are and strive to be. From feelings book to their artistic reflections on making a snowman to creating with “hands” definitely a connection. Some students finished their art, but most will continue after the break. It was an interesting experience for me to observe their process in the works. Many of the children I knew from previous subbing days. And I think there was a comfort zone for us as I reached out to those students I did not know.

In the art class I found the support that makes challenges doable. Kids asked questions, helped each other get materials they needed, were silly, excited (remember holidays just around the corner) and talkative. Each book included wonderful discussions that reflected in their art making. The stories were the conduit for the work!

And now back to the original idea of this post. I choose to look at animal fiction stories. Hopefully you’ve been exposed to this genre and the volume of books out there. Treat yourself, libraries are our friends. I often look back at these books and see how “problems” arise, often occur through misunderstandings, and how the animal characters help and support each other. Are there solutions to all the problems (no), are there ups and downs (yes)? There are tears, anger and sadness. But also joyful happy outcomes.

And that’s what I want to reflect on. We can make a difference, we can be available. We can make place for everyone who wants to join us in this space!! As always I’d love to hear from you and how your experiences reflect in your work.

Reminding us we can shine a light! Be that light!

Wishing all a holiday season that brings you peace comfort and joy.

I’ve written about books and read alouds before. Here I’ve included a post from my archives.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Power of Books – between the covers

  1. mizlatea says:

    I enjoyed reading your post this morning. Children, books, and art make a powerful potion indeed! So glad to hear that you had a positive experience subbing. We need more subs like you!

    • faige says:

      Thank you! It was a wonderful learning experience to observe the students response to the stories through art. And discussion! Thank you for reading and your comments.

Leave a comment