Once Upon A Time

I had a nostalgic moment yesterday when I brought home these boxes from my old classroom filled with my books. Years of teaching, my love of reading, lead to an extensive class library. My former teaching partner explained that due to the school renovations,  classrooms needed to weed out what they no longer used. They had kept more books then those I brought home, which made me so happy. Some of my favorites were still there and others were now home with me. I can’t keep all these books so some are for my grandchildren to remember how much I loved reading to them, some to a friend’s grandchildren and I hope to donate the rest to my neighborhood school. As I looked through the boxes I had so many wonderful flashbacks to the read alouds and what was discussed and shared with the kinders. And of course a reflection was not far behind!

Once upon a time in a far away land children played. They played at school. They played at home. They played with friends, they played alone.

Once upon a time in a far away land children dug in the sand; they tried to reach China.

Once upon a time in a far away land children used boxes to build forts, space ships to reach Mars, a kitchen or a lemonade stand.

Once upon a time in a far away land children did research on their own to see what would sink, what would float.

Once upon a time in a far away land children stayed outdoors till it was time for dinner; no one worried, it’s just what they did!

Once upon a time in a far away land children played board games and ball games, no coaches no trophies, but winners yes, and then off to the next idea.

Once upon a time in a far away land children were “tryers and doers” if it didn’t work out they tried again. We call it iterate, they just said “Let’s do it again and figure it out!”

As I look forward to all the tomorrows, I squeeze in a Once Upon A time In A far Away Land for good measure!

What are the yesterdays that you continue to value and expose your student to as they navigate today’s world?

Roxaboxen. A favorite book and a great classroom extension to build their city. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

