Summer Down Time, Maybe?

 

Apparently this will be my 200th post!  A relatively new comer to this blogging world; but a place I am becoming more and more confident in holding my own!

In a busy summer with my family, enjoying time with my daughter and grandkids, who live in another state, I am still drawn to reading blogs and learning with my incredible PLN. I continue to participate in chats (though limited) and I joined a FB Kindergarten group (a first for me) to share questions, concerns and ideas these educators mull over even on summer break!

As I read blogs and posts related to education. I sit back and realize that although I am now retired (but I sub), I am still so interested in what’s happening in a field that filled my life for so many years. I reflect about how I did this  or I wish I knew more about this .

I have lived vicariously through some great vacations my friends have posted on FB, serving as great reminders of places I’ve been and those on my bucket list. I have listened to the angst and concerns of both sides on the divided aisle of our government, and to the turmoil in many places in our world. I have made comments, asked questions and wonder;  not for me, but for my grandkids, “What is it that we want for them and how do we get there?” I’m not sure, but silence leads to acquiescence and I come back to this quote from

Eli Wiesel. 

I recently read this post from @donalynbooks education/politics and it brings the challenge to share the broader picture of what we do as educators. We look at voice/choice for our students and we need to embrace that too, for us!

My musings today. Hope that summer re-energizes. Think we’re in for a bumpy ride. Wondering about your summer as we’re half way done?

Outside my front door, twilight skies remind me to absorb the goodness around me. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

