It’s Been A Year (and retirement ain’t so bad)

Wow is really what pops in my mind. It’s been a year since I retired and I think I’m going to be all right. For a long time I was terribly lost. My focus and my “raison d’être” seemed gone. What was I going to be doing with all that time on my hands?  I’ve written before about my husband’s health issues and then losing him in April, so I won’t go into that, but to say this hit me like a ton of bricks. But I go on, surrounded by family and friends near and far who protect me, care for me and most of all let me be me. The smile that didn’t reach my eyes, for awhile, is there again because of them. And as corny as it might sound because of my friends on social media (Twitter, Facebook), whom I have not met face to face, but pick me up and let me know I still have much to offer in the world of education. Subbing at my old school and the Temple school (where I have found a welcoming community of learners as well), has filled a void I worried about.

And now summer is upon us. School ends this week (for both schools I sub at) and everyone moves on. I just went to the 6th grade graduation at my old school (the Head of School is also retiring after 44 years of service) and I had a chance to say good bye to many of the graduates who were in my kindergarten class. I loved the giddiness in their bodies and voices. They knew what they accomplished and they were excited to go; with a little bit of sadness in saying good by. Watching them I realized they have much to teach me; that  joy and sadness is intertwined. Isn’t that what life is all about!

I look forward to spending time with my grandkids, cleaning house (no classroom to worry about) reading books that have been left unopened and chatting on Twitter where a hope and a promise often awaits me;  and enjoying life. Thinking about all of you who have worked so hard this school year, sharing your learning with all of us to give students a chance to have their voice. Saying good bye is hard, even if only for the summer or whatever the transition might be.

Now I’m giving myself a time to reflect how it went. How about you?

image

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

