Why I’m Still Here

I sit here reading tweets and blogs reflecting on “why I’m still here!” Not here as alive, but here as in education, participating in chats on Twitter, engrossed in blogs that reaffirm or challenge my thinking, and of course writing my own posts. After all I retired last year! But I so clearly understood when I retired that it didn’t mean I no longer cared nor worried nor wanted to stick around, in whatever way I could. So I tweet, join chats, blog and sub. My role as a substitute teacher in my old school and the Temple school, that has embraced me as a long lost member of their family, helps me find my footing in this world of retirement.

I still enjoy contributing my point of view while open to learning other perspectives in the chats on Twitter, in blog posts or comments on Facebook. School is not the building, but the community of learners and doers. Sitting behind a desk or standing at a podium no longer deemed the best choice of engagement or empowering our students with their voice and choice in meeting their needs and goals. I have known this for quite some time and feel it most saliently when I sub and am often the “guide on the side” observing, listening and waiting to see what the students need from me. My favorite time when they want to show me their discovery, their understanding of their learning or best of all, how to do something that is new or unfamiliar to me.

Two blog posts I read today got me thinking about this idea of  influence  by @DrMaryHoward and one from @JoyKirr on reflection And @avivacola in her recent reflections on @Self_Reg. Her writing is a conversation between us and her learning. Her questions and reflection are a powerful reminder of exemplary teachers. There are so many other bloggers from @CarrieGelson @gcouros and more I could site, who push my thinking and help me understand why I’m still here!

imageimage

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why I’m Still Here

  1. Joy Kirr says:

    Hi, Faige!
    You are a teacher. Even if you don’t get paid for it right now, you’ll always BE a teacher. I also know you are a life-time learner. Blogging (reflecting, sharing, etc.) is one way you continue to learn. I thank you for your contribution prior to retiring and also now! 😀 Your voice needs to be heard! Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. faige says:

    Thank you so much. It has been great learning with so many amazing and dedicated teachers through Twitter and my f2f interactions with colleagues. The sharing of thoughts, ideas and resources with teachers is always with a goal in mind: the children in our care, what’s best for them. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment. Have a great summer!

Leave a Reply

