I Cannot Protect Them

I can not protect them from sorrow and sadness that comes with loss.

Not the loss of a toy or a trophy or a book.

Not the loss of things.

Nor disappointments in their decisions and consequences that feel so wrong.

Nor hurt feelings, theirs and others.

I can not protect them from sorrow and sadness that comes with loss.

The loss of their Zeidie, their grandpa, whose smile they cherished.

I can be with them to share the memories and keep them safe.

I can cry and laugh with them and let them know we must go on.

I cannot protect them from sorrow and sadness that comes with loss.

I can be there with them and remind them Zeidie will be with them forever,

And forever will hold them strong.

Although I wrote this as a reflection piece to share with my grandkids who just lost their Zeidie (grandpa), I also write it keeping in mind others who have suffered loss, be it parent, grandparent, sibling or friend.

image

Mr. Rogers reminds me that a “helping hand” is a “strong hand.” Life takes a village.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

