Take A Minute To Thank The Teacher

 

I can say it now. I am retired and feel that I have a green light to share my views (with the understanding to do no harm). Most teachers have started their Winter Break and I remember all to well how the weeks before the holidays were fraught with excitement and exhaustion. Thanksgiving heralds in the winter holidays and vacation is in the air. But so much to be done before then, whether tests, papers to write or projects to finish. No matter what grade is taught, teachers, students and parents have a lot on their plate. (I do not discount administrators, staff and all personnel who help run our schools.) I sit and reflect about this time of year and the memorable moments that stand out for me. The gift giving was generous and thoughtful from the homemade treats to book store and mall gift cards to loving notes and pictures from my students. Many teachers have reminded me about this in their blogs, on Twitter and Facebook. We appreciate these gifts and understand how difficult times can make it a heavy burden for many. But this is where I get to use my retirement card, a thank you means a lot. A thank you for being there for my kid, a thank you for caring, a thank you for instilling the love of learning, a thank you for taking the time to talk to me (the parent) when I questioned or didn’t understand what was going on and a thank you for bringing laughter and joy into my kid’s life. Because folks, school may be that one safe comfort zone for our students. Over the years I have received incredibly thoughtful notes from parents. They invigorated me when I questioned myself as I took a stand for what I believed would serve the needs of my students best. Doubt creeps in, in all of us, but the thank you, whenever it is given, reminds us why we’re here doing what we do.

Wishing you all peace in this coming New Year.

image

The sun shining through the tree makes me think of light bringing hope to our world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Take A Minute To Thank The Teacher

  1. We seem to be on a very similar retirement journey, Faige. I am so glad you took the time to say your thanks. Best wishes for a hope filled 2016.
    Carol

    • faige says:

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting on my post. I have been so fortunate to have taught at such an incredible school all these years. Recognizing this I wanted to let people know how important it is to thank a teacher.

Leave a Reply

