Because I Can

I wrote a post a while back about being honest when you’re not ready to do something and say I Can’t Do It Right Now which can be read Here Today I want to share an incident and comment one of my grandkids made a few years ago. One day while my daughter and her family were visiting us, one of my granddaughters was crying inconsolably. She was going on and on and we couldn’t figure out what was wrong. When I asked her why she was crying and carrying on, she stopped, looked at me, and said, “Because I can.” I stopped dead in my tracks and said, “What?” and she repeated, “Because I can.” She was right! Over the years I have learned so much from my grandkids and my students and life in general. I often think of her words and realize that we as adults can’t fix everything and well we shouldn’t. A hard lesson learned over and over again. But that’s not what this post is about. What I realized, as I connect my personal and professional stories, it’s not about fixing things but harnessing that “I Can” to a productive, growth mindset, that empowers the learner. How often have I heard my kinders exclaim in distress, I can’t do that: read, write, math, draw, climb, computers; you get to fill in what that might look like in your classroom. And then we as educators jump through hoops to encourage, facilitate and differentiate the lessons so our students can be successful. We attend conferences, read blogs, brainstorm with colleagues and make good use of Professional Development to gain insight in making sure our students get to I Can. Ours is a profession of never ending resources if we look for them, because, well, because We Can!

How do you help your students harness a growth mindset of I Can?

image I Can taking hold slowing but surely.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

