Thinking Back, Looking Ahead

This is the week end that I would try to fit in all that I needed to do to get ready for school as I anxiously awaited Monday. Sunday night would be a sleepless one, even though kids wouldn’t be coming on Monday, but a day to start the week of meetings, room prep and sharing summer experiences with colleagues. But not this week end. I am retired and due to circumstances beyond my control, my life is on hold. My husband is fighting a huge battle to gain as much ground as he can after a debilitating stroke. I am his advocate now, as I try to get him the best medical treatment that is available. I hold my breath as I write this, because I don’t want it to be viewed as a poor Faige story, but as a way for you to understand where I am right now. NOW is a time too many of us forget about as we make plans; we are creatures of habit in that way. Teachers always make plans looking to implement the best teaching practices for our students. And I love that about us:  thinking about our students, the parents and our class. We talk and talk about the new school year; the children we have, making relationships with parents and in recent years focusing on student voice and choice. These are exciting times in education. Project based learning (PBL) and #geniushour are delicious buzz words leading to #tlap @burgessdave #LearnLap @PaulSolarz We look at our math programs, our reading and writing workshops that we hope will be as exciting for our students, as it is for us, to share with them. And I will miss that. But I come from a school community that can truly be called “my extended family.” So while I wait for some semblance of order and routine in my life (my family and friends, truly at my beck and call), I look ahead as a substitute teacher at my school when I can, to travel when I can, to find my way in the best way I can. And for now, I stay connected to education with my community of learners: school colleagues, Twitter, Facebook and blogs. My PLN who share and push my thinking. I will always see myself as a “teacher.”

 

image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thinking Back, Looking Ahead

  1. Joy Kirr says:

    Faige, you always WILL BE a teacher. Many of us look forward to being retired – I do so that I can spend more time with my husband. I will soak in the NOW, however, as it is exciting. It always feels like another chance – another chance to connect to someone and hopefully make his or her life a little bit better. You do that for many of us. Today you helped me focus on the NOW once again, and I am grateful. I’m going to go out for a walk with my love, and enjoy this beautiful weather while we can. Thank you for sharing more of your story with us today.

  2. faige says:

    Thank you Joy. Wasn’t sure how this would go, but wanted PLN to know my time on Twitter is great connection to the NOW in my learning at this junction in my journey.

Leave a Reply

