It Is About Our Students 

This was my note to myself for my next post on my blog: “#You matter; so excited when I see famous person respond to tweets on FB or Twitter.” ” Can you imagine how our students feel when we validate them and they know it.” I wanted to write about my kinders and how they feel when adults and classmates acknowledge who they are and what they can do. And then.. I saw a Twitter conversation that had me thinking about this post I was writing and the connections to “validations” “self-worth” and “#youmatter.”  The implications are not only for us as the adults in the “room”, but for the students we teach. The Twitter conversation focused on people recognition and those feeling or maybe being “ignored.” It is understandable when our   Ego gets in the way. And I tweeted @dubioseducator: @PeterMDeWitt @educationweek Saw @avivaloca convo here & I then take a look. Looking at it thru the lens of “sense & sensibility” #edustars  This article 3 Reasons Why Your Twitter Ego Could Destroy Your Message in @educationweek by @PeterMDeWitt is worth reading and reflecting upon. In our rush to be up there with the top tier in the Twitterverse have we forgotten why we’re here? I know how thrilled I am when someone responds to a post I’ve written on my blog, or makes a comment or retweets my tweet. The “high” feeds my ego! But sometimes when we don’t get that validation, in our rush to judgment, we think of ourselves and not the “other.” Circumstances don’t come into our mindset. But I digress as I want to talk about our students who wait, want and need to know they matter. I came to realize what impact we as teachers have on making our students the focus of the learning and teaching in our classrooms. I have written about our #geniushour times and how our wonders often set the stage for incredible self-directed learning. The kinders have opportunities to see how important their ideas are to their learning. The many Twitter discussions, blogs and from @AngelaMaiers Maiers#youmatter and #choose2matter concepts resonate with me. When we put our kids first and make them “the most important constituient in the room” then we’re on the right track.” 

Life is messy and it needs to be. I saw this the other day as my grandkids (visiting from Dallas) went horseback riding with their parents. Hope our ride at the end of the day is one we can be proud of.  

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It Is About Our Students 

  1. adunsiger says:

    I think that the message that it’s “about the kids” can never get old. It’s one that’s worth repeating, but it’s also one that I think we need to take the time to think about. Are we making sure that kids are really our focus (in all that we say and do)? If not, why? Should we be changing this, and if so, how?

    I wonder if educators almost become like “celebreties” thanks to social media because we engage with these people more online instead of in person. They seem so removed from us, when really, if we look at it, we’re all still educators. We’re all still learning. We can all learn a lot from each other. Peter’s post made me think back to the first blog post I wrote after going to an EdTech conference and meeting so many of my Twitter followers in person. I said I was starstruck. I think I was. But are we really the ones that elevate each other to this “star status?” What are the implications of doing so?

    Always lots to think about …
    Aviva

  2. faige says:

    You always leave me thinking Aviva. I’m still “star struck” when people connect with e that I admire. It’s the nature of the beast. But I try so hard to stay focus on what this is really all about. So I learn, I share, I reflect as I connect

    • faige says:

      Didn’t finish: so I learn, share and reflect as I connect with a great PLN that helps me do what I can for my students. My caveat: whoa is the idol with clay feet!

  3. Great post Faige. Thanks for writing this.

    There are so many times I get cc’d on on a Tweet and sometimes I wonder why. Do they just want me to read it? Do they want me to share it? Why me? Is it something that they know I’ll be interested in? I’ve actually had people DM me asking me to RT something or asking me why I didn’t RT something. I read the piece and it just didn’t resonate with me.

    I think one of the things we need to do is understand who our audience is. If I read something that had to do with something super nice and thoughtful, or something about Kindergarten, or being a grandmother, or something artistic or creative- then I would think “Oh I should share this with Faige.” Perhaps in my 140 character crunch I don’t take the time to let you know why you should take the time to read something even though you are already really busy.

    I guess it’s a two way street. We need to think about how and why we are sharing with a particular person and I need to think, why is Faige sharing this with me and how can I make sure to validate that effort and desire to share.

    Make sure that we share student work in a place that parents and family can find and reshare is important. When my students really want their family to see and comment on their work they’ll use Facebook instead of Twitter. They know their parents and grandparents aren’t on Twitter or Instagram so they go to where their audience is.

    • faige says:

      Thanks for taking the time to write. And what a good point you make. True in our busy lives connecting and sharing often is a conscious effort. I often take a peek at the topics on the chats I enjoy learning with and today’s #caedchat prompt had me thinking about who we are and what we do. I thought my post worked well with your graphic and so linked it to you.

  4. If you want to edit my last sentence in my first paragraph, feel free. What I meant to say what the posts that people were asking me about didn’t resonate, but with the period before the sentence it seems a little like YOUR post didn’t resonate with me. That is NOT what I meant at all. Your post did resonate with me, which is why I responded. And I got why you shared it with me, you never spam me Faige, so I know your shares are important.

  5. faige says:

    No problem or worries. This clarifies your comments and I want you to know that my learning curve is pretty big. So much to learn and am happy to do so with wonderful PLN I have met on Twittet.

Leave a Reply

