AN AHA MOMENT

This is a short post on an “aha moment” I had on Thursday after our PD about learning and the brain. We had a speaker discuss  various topics concerned with learning, perseverance, mindset and connections to the brain. I thought about young children and how they approach novelty, new experiences and risk; how theirs is a growthmindset. Mindset I thought about when that changes. I thought about how and why that happens. I thought about self-fulfilling prophecy Prophecy and when the negative becomes the setback that leads to a fixed mindset. And I thought about our role as educators to change that within ourselves and lead by example. Sharing and reflecting on one’s journey from a fixed mindset to a growth mindset is a powerful message to colleagues and students. When our students say I can’t that’s the red flag of the fixed mindset. Where you go from there and how you help your students grow and develop a growth mindset might be one of the best gifts we have to share. 
Although my days in my own classroom are over, my concern and passions about education and learning remain.  So I will continue to share my reflections, thoughts and ideas. Please share your thoughts about how a mindset influences your students’ learning and your teaching. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to AN AHA MOMENT

  1. Pingback: WHAT INTRINSIC MOTIVATION LOOKS LIKE IN KINDERGARTEN | The road traveled

Leave a Reply

