Spring Break Plans

Here it is Friday, April 4th and my break is almost over. Didn’t think I would blog this week but after a wonderful #geniushour chat last night, I decided to share some reflections. My goal for this week was to do some spring cleaning, getting ready for Passover. But the surprises that awaited me were daunting. Had a creature(s) in my attic and something was eating my Navajo rugs: time to call the exterminator who sealed entry places to my house and set “safe” traps to get the interloper. That was all well and good but the story of my rugs is too sad. Some were eaten by cloth moths, beyond repair, and I decided it was time to sell those that I could, which I did. This was a wake up call- time to downsize my treasures. It was a joyous adventure for many years. Traveling with friends and collecting. Now it is time for memories and not so many things. This does not make me sad because I am on a new road in my life and embrace these new adventures. This week I bought my husband a special chair that assists him in getting up. It is big and comfortable and he LOVES it. That makes me happy. I resized my wedding band because of my arthritis; they fit and sparkle. Little things make me happy and I accept that. I went out to lunch with my son and another day with my brother. I had a pedicure. I walked around the Grove on a beautiful cool spring day. And today, I have a headache, cough and temperature. Whether it is stressed related or not, I don’t know, but I need to be well by Sunday because we’re off to a wedding! I will be fine. So the teacher in me had an epiphany. We often ask our students what plans they have for winter break, spring break and summer vacation. Why? I just identified with my students who don’t have “magnificent” plans for their time off. Some stay home with care givers because their parents work. Some can’t go on “marvelous” trips because money is tight. I wonder how these children feel when they can’t share this type of adventure. I will remember that next time vacations from school roll around. I would love to hear from you how you frame this question to allow for inclusion in the discussion for all of our students..

20140404-143004.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Break Plans

  1. Joy Kirr says:

    Faige,
    I’m glad your spring break was somewhat of a break… I know getting things checked of my list is healthy for me. 😉
    I have a question each day in the back of the room on the tiny chalkboard. Students move their magnetic names over to the answer they with which they agree. We don’t really talk about the answers, but I get to see who’s not here (who didn’t move their name), and get a feel for the class based on their answers. My question when we got back was, “On a scale of 1-10, how was your break?” I had two kids down at one, but most were past five. I made sure I pulled those two aside at some point in the period and asked them. I work in an affluent district, and so their answers were not upsetting in the sense of “these poor children…” Instead, they were a teaching of life lessons opportunity. Their response? “It was boring.” I said, “Really? I thought maybe someone had passed away, by looking at where you name was on the scale.” I went on to explain (hopefully in a nice voice) that I didn’t feel sorry for them, because it was their own fault they were bored. I explained how it’s up to them to figure out what makes them interested – reading, watching movies, even playing video games – if they’re bored, they need to figure out something to DO or WONDER.
    I know it could just be 7th grade mentality, but it made me realize I need to teach more empathy (letting them know what a “one” really could look like in someone else’s life!), and explain more how we all have a hand in our own destiny…
    I hope you are feeling better, and can enjoy the wedding to the fullest! Enjoy going back to your school routine as well! 🙂

  2. faige says:

    What a great idea for your students. Touching base with them lets them you know you care (and the ones lets them know you really want to help them -yes teaching empathy is a life’s lesson ). Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

