Getting To Know Me: Now You

I have been reading a number of posts about this “Twitter chain letter” (as @MauiMickey coined) finding out fascinating insights about the people I follow on Twitter and the blogs I read. The “homework meme” has caught up to me, thank you Michelle Hiebert for wondering about me and including me in your list. What stands out most for me is the dedication of these people to their profession and the children they serve. Their personal stories, shared with humor and love just reinforces their generosity and humanity. By coincidence, in my last post, I shared a Snippet About Me so I will share some different random facts about me.
Here’s how it works:
1. Acknowledged the nomination blogger.
2. Share 11random facts about you.
3. Answer the 11 questions the nominating blogger has  created for you.
4. List 11 bloggers.
5. Post 11 questions for the bloggers you nominate to answer, and let all the bloggers know they have been nominated. Don’t nominate a blogger who has nominated you.
 11 Random facts About Me
 
1. I was born in Germany after WW2 and lived in Germany, Paris, France, Israel and Montreal, Canada by the time I was 5 years old.
2. I spoke German, Yiddish, Hebrew, Polish and French until I became fluent in English and then only retained Yiddish and French as I grew up in Montreal. (Now my mother tongue is English with smidgins of the other two.)
3. I am also strong willed and determined. Don’t take NO so easily. I learned how to ice skate and ride a two wheeler even though my mother said no and was overly protective of me. I have lived my life questioning ‘nos’ or you ‘can’t.’
4. I met my husband when I was 18. He saw me walking in the neighborhood with two of my much younger cousins and followed me to see where I was going: trying to find out who I was. I was going to see my mother at the bakery where she worked. His mother checked me out (this was 1965 and I led a very sheltered life); he and my mother conspired to have us meet.
5. I loved school and may have been the only child ever running to school to kindergarten, not away. I was an uneven student. Tests freaked me out. Did much better writing reports and projects. I came into my own as a student in college.
6. I married at 19, had my son at 20 and my daughter at 22; then done. My daughter has three children whom I adore. They live in another city but I make sure to see them often. My son lives close by. I cherish the times my husband and I can be with all of them.
7. I am Jewish and have always been comfortable in my “Jewish skin”. Saying this I have always been curious about other religions and have had many opportunities to celebrate these traditions and cultures with friends and at my school.
8. I love to travel and have  made many wonderful trips to places near and far. I have seen midnight mass at Notre Dame in Paris and Las Posadas observed in a church in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I have been to the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, the Temple Mount and the Western Wall in Jerusalem. I have been to Bethlehem and traveled the roads of Jesus. I have traveled to Rome and the Vatican, Venice and the Jewish Ghetto, learning and seeing first hand my Jewish History. I have been to Cairo and the Pyramids, Thailand, the Emerald Buddha and the Temples there.  I have seen the Grand Canyon and marveled at the vastness. I have traveled to Alaska, to Vancouver, Banff and Jasper in the Canadian Rockies and stood at the Continental Divide.
9. I love my lattes and have one from my favorite place each morning. This year it has become a point of interest for my Kinders who often make me “coffee” with their various manipulatives and art supplies. When they made their neighborhood, boys and girls were excited about putting my coffee shop on the map.
10. I wish I had more time to see plays (musicals) and movies. If I had a New Year’s resolution it would be to go to more of them.
11. And I enjoy eating out! It is a wonderful time for me to relax and chat with family and friends where I can just sit and soak in the company.
Michele’s Questions
 
1. What is your favourite travel memory?
My first trip to Israel when my kids were 7 and 9. We went to visit their grandparents who had moved there the previous year. It was an amazing experience.
 2. If you could travel anywhere in the world and money is no object, where would you go?
 I often say that there are places on my bucket list that I want a personal tour to: just plop me down, let me see the site and then move on. So, The Taj Mahal, Machu Picchu, the Great Wall of China and my list of museums is endless.
3. What is your favourite meal and why?
I love my daughter’s cooking and sitting with her, her husband  my Grandkids, husband and son is the best I can ask for.
 4. If you could have dinner with anyone living or dead, who would it be?
My father who passed away right before my 10th birthday. I would want to soak in the time just talking and laughing  knowing that it would need to be memories to last a life time.
 5. If you weren’t a teacher, what career would you pursue?
My second choice was always as a psychologist or  family therapist.
6. What is your favourite way to spend an entire day by yourself when you have no obligations?
Rarely pamper myself like that so think a pedicure, a movie, a good book and a latte. Learning to appreciate down time.
7. What is your favourite song?
 To Dream the Impossible Dream from Man of La Mancha or
I dreamed a dream from Les Miserables (Dreaming seems to be a through line for me)
 8. What is your favourite book?
Little Women
 9. What is your favourite movie?
Schindler’s  List
10. What is a perfect night out for you?
Dinner and a movie
 11. Who do you love to spend time with most of all?
My family: Husband, son, daughter, son in law and Grandkids.  An outing with them is a dream for me.
 
11 Bloggers I’d Love To Know More About
 
1. Mardelle Sauerton
2. Heidi Hechternacht
3. Heather McKay
4. Karen Lirenman
5. Angela Maiers
6. Chrissy P ( @singalullaby ) 
7. @KinderFynes
8. Patty (@tori1074 )
9. Joy Kirr
10. Angie Harrison
11. Janice Comrie
Questions for You: 
 
1. Where is your favorite place to eat?
2. Who is your go to person at work?
3. If you could live in any era, what would you choose?
4. Who would you like to spend the day with, living or dead?
5. When you grow up what would you like to do? (What would be another career choice?)
6. What is your favorite movie?
7. What is your favorite book?
8. Who is your favorite singer?
9. If you could live anywhere, where would you choose?
11. What would you redo if you could?
10. What is the best thing about you?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting To Know Me: Now You

  1. Faige,
    Since I’d already written my post, I felt I owed you a few question/answers. I REALLY loved learning about YOU in this post! The value of doing these is in the connections, I know now. Fave Movie: Sound of Music OR The Princess Bride. Fave Book: Not a fair question. 😉 Favorite Singer: Martina McBride (Passed on- Karen Carpenter) Next “Career Choice”: Shelving books at the local library while listening to books on tape. I love where I live, the era I’m in (because my family is here), & spending time with people I love. I hope your 2014 is just as special as 2013 was, and I hope to get to know you even better! Thank you so much for sharing! ~Joy

    • faige says:

      I too love learning about you @JoyKirr and the people I have connected with on Twitter. I read your previous post and enjoyed getting to know you better. Have a great winter break and all the best in 2914! 🎉

Leave a Reply

